About Us​

Back in the 1950s, Hong Kong was a thriving port with rich resources from the waters.  The city was a pearl cultivation ground.  The rapid urban development followed by the substantial devastation of the environment and traditional heritage.  In recent years, the Hong Kong government began to pay attention about sustainable development.  These turned out into long term project, such as the Water Pollution Control and Harbour Area Treatment Scheme.  In 2011, with the improvement of the water quality, the cross-harbour swim race started again.  In 2015, we tested the pearl cultivation for over three years.  We have proved that the waters in the eastern side of Hong Kong, in particular the Saikung waters, are suitable for cultivating high quality pearls that meet the international standards.

 

Hong Kong possesses a much deeper and longer relationship with pearls than anyone could have imagined.  Hong Kong Pearl Cultivation Association encourages innovation in order to rejuvenate the traditional industry and pass on to the next generations.  We have established an experience centre where we share our pearl expertise, reveal the secrets of pearls, and let the public engage Hong Kong pearls in a way they would never do at any traditional jewelry stores.

At the same time, we also want to share our viewpoints about the encouragement of marine biodiversity, environmental conservation, Hong Kong traditional pearl heritage, develop the pearl cultivation industry, and promote the new aquacultural industry to the world.  Through all this, we hope to effectively help the local fishery to become more competitive in the international market through this upgrade by pearl cultivation.

Develop

Develop sustainably and link up the value chain of the Hong Kong pearl industry

Read More >

Engage

Let the public engage and learn everything about pearls

Read More >

Pass On

Nurture a new generation of pearl cultivators

Read More >

Rebuild

Rejuvenate and assist the traditional aquacultural industry

Read More >

​關於我們​

   香港的海港自然資源豐富,也曾是珍珠養殖重地。可是過去日子,城市文明高速發展卻換來了很多生態環境的破壞,傳統文化產業的滅絕,帶來很多不可持續發展的危機,珍珠養殖業亦從此續漸息微。近年來,各界開始關注環境保育問題及可持續性發展,例如:過往港府實施了十多年的淨化海港計劃,維港渡海泳亦於2011年再次復辦,證明香港水域水質有顯著改善。而本機構於2015年至2018年期間進行超過三年的珍珠養殖試驗性質的研究,驗證了香港西貢擁有優良的水質及地理環境,適合養殖國際級水平的珍珠。​

   既然,香港跟珍珠有着深遠淵源的歷史。作為香港人,又怎能忽視這得天獨厚的優勢呢?因此,「香港珍珠養殖協會」決心以養殖香港珍珠重建「東方之珠」的美譽,並結合傳統與創新來建立珍珠養殖與教育的體驗休閒區,為每位來訪者揭開珍珠神秘面紗,分享養殖珍珠過程及親身體驗珍珠養殖活動,展示清貝及放養的過程,讓大眾全面認識珍珠及生產屬於「香港珍珠」。

​   我們的珍珠場位於香港的後花園– 西貢。希望藉著珍珠推行海洋生態環保教育、傳統產業文化保育及拓展珍珠養殖技術,同時更有效地推動本港漁業生產國際化,協助本地漁業界應付國內廉價及低成本漁產出口的新挑戰。因此,轉型至高增值的珍珠養殖業,有助改善多個業界經營環境,以及提升整個漁業的競爭力。

發展

以珍珠養殖為軸心,拓展本土可持續發展及串連本土珍珠業界的價值鏈

Read More >

接觸

以多元化題材讓公眾接觸及了解有關珍珠的各種事情

Read More >

​傳承

培育新一代珍珠養殖專家

Read More >

重建

活化本地漁排業及幫助轉型

Read More >